Life Updates – Reflections on April, May, June, and July

So, I took a break from writing for a bit.  Life got busy and complicated, so I needed to focus on other things.

What things you ask?

Well, I guess the big thing was that I bought a house.  Yep.  As in I now make mortgage payments instead of rent payments.  That whole process was a mess in and of itself–an emotional roller coaster of sorts.

I knew going into April that I would be house hunting, but I wasn’t sure if I would rent or buy.  In May, I looked at a bunch of places and made an official offer to buy my house.  It’s a cute two bedroom house with great living spaces, a full basement, an attached two car garage, and a great backyard.  Bonus:  it’s less than a mile from work, so I COULD walk…you know…if I wanted to…

June was consumed with all things house to include frustrations with the loan process, inspections, appraisals, etc.  We closed at the end of June (a whole long ordeal and story in and of itself), and my parents, a family friend, and a co-worker got me moved over.

July was a month of unpacking and getting settled while prepping for the upcoming academic year.  The picture at the top of my post is from the fireworks here in town.  A co-worker and his wife invited us over for a cookout and a trip to the fireworks.  It was a fun night.  I made a Ca-Pie (like ka-pow)…it’s a cake/pie hybrid.  I think it has potential to be my new baking obsession.

Although I bought a house, my finances are quite happy with me at the moment.  I paid off a credit card, I have a healthy chunk in my savings account.  I’m back on my budget, and I feel secure.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about adopting a new dog or a cat.   Last week, I learned that I don’t have time for a second dog right now.

At the end of July, I was driving to the home improvement store when I came across a pup running along the side of the road and trying to cross the street.  I picked her up and took her to the local shelter to be scanned for a micro-chip.  She had no tags and no chip.  So, the shelter placed a photo of her online to see if someone could identify her.  I agreed to bring her home with me until we could find her family.  I grew up with my dad bringing lost dogs home with him for the same reason, so it didn’t seem like a big deal.  Bug was not thrilled, but she didn’t get too agitated.

Lost Pup

Just over 24 hours later, her momma called and came and picked her up.  As it turned out, her momma’s sister lives directly across the street from my new house.  Does that mean I live in a small town?

I was happy to see her reunited with her family.  I was even happier that I didn’t have to keep her because keeping track of both dogs was more work than I had anticipated.  For the time being, Bug will be the only pup in the house.  Maybe when we get past August…

In terms of my efforts toward bettering my health, it’s a mixed bag.  This summer, my diet has been abysmal.  Que excuses:  I ate a lot of fast food because it took pressure off during my move process.  I didn’t want to have to cook on top of dealing with everything else, so I cheated.  My exercise has also suffered but not as much as my diet.  I walk the dog, but I haven’t set foot in the gym in a while.

During this time, my weight loss has plateaued.  The numbers aren’t where I want them, but my clothes are fitting better…so I’m not complaining too loudly.  I’ve recently started doing a daily weigh-in as opposed to a weekly one.  I’m not sure how I feel about it yet…we’ll see.

I’m not giving up.  I’m doing some research and some soul-searching, and my plan is changing for the better.  I’m making a huge lifestyle change, and I’m scared and excited.  I refuse to maintain this relationship that I’ve developed with food, and I hope that I’m able to not only help myself, but help those around me.  Stay tuned for a big update.

 

Author: angel[a]

I am a woman with a passion to explore, discover, and create. I currently work in higher education but also have a love for all things music, cooking, and baking. I write about an eclectic mix of things to include my faith, field of work, interests, life events, etc.

Leave a Reply

