Reflections on March

Four-leaf_Clover

You know what I like about March?  March is a month of transitions.  I know transitions are hard for some people, but I’ve grown to love them–well, most of them.  We transition from winter to spring, and with that transition, we move from indoor activities to outdoor activities.  Our communities transition from passive to active ones as we stop for conversations instead of looking for the quickest and shortest path back into the house because the cold is burning our skin.  Grass transitions from that almost dead looking brown to an inviting green.  In my field of work, we’re putting together teams and timelines for the next academic year while starting the process of wrapping up and recognizing the work our teams have done during the past nine months.  We’re focused on the new in March, and I really like that.

March 2014 Collage

March was… a good month to center myself and prepare for all of the transitions that naturally happen this month.  It was also a month of personal growth for me.  I got serious about my health.  I worked a lot on my faith.  I made some pretty big decisions.  I worked on my confidence.  March was a restful (but busy) month.

The highlights of my month were… the few brief warm days that reminded me that spring was around the corner, the look on Miss V’s face when I took her home from the emergency vet (and the grateful cuddles for the next two days), the massive clean/purge of my kitchen (it just feels so much lighter!), the direction the number on the scale headed all month, writing for #SheSharesTruth each Friday, and the kind words and encouragement from women around the globe.

The lowest point of my month was… when I looked at my pup the night she got her vaccinations and saw how badly she was swelling up.  I was petrified that she wouldn’t be okay.  Even the vet told me that if I had waited much longer to bring her, her throat may have swollen completely shut.  Completely and utterly grateful for caring and talented professionals.

The best thing I spent my money on this month was… the emergency vet in Dayton–hands down, no contest.  Yes, it was expensive, but it was completely worth it to make sure that Miss V had the care she needed when she needed it.

In March, I wrote about… the whole ordeal with my sick puppy, the 30th anniversary of my parents’ marriagerunning away from God, second chances found in Christ, healing the sinner’s soul, and waiting on God and His perfect love.  Wow, friends, I didn’t realize until I typed this how much actually I wrote this month.  I guess that’s what happens when you decide to be more accountable and consistent.

The status of my health journey this month was…  I lost seven pounds entirely by changing my diet this month!  Each week, I’m hoping to update the “stats” so those at home can follow along.  I tried Greek yogurt, and that was a struggle.  Overall, I’ve gotten better at making smarter choices and being more mindful of portions.  As for the exercise part, well…

A habit I would like to change in April is… being better at this whole exercise thing.  I had a routine, but the last couple of months have greeted me with less than impressive levels of motivation.  I just need to make it a priority and make myself go.  

I am looking forward to April because… it means we’re getting closer to summer break!  In the work world also means working to hire a new professional staff member, working out program proposals for conferences, and serious planning for the next academic year.  I’m also really excited about Easter this year.  For some reason, Lent has been especially powerful for me this year, and I’m excited to see that culminate with Holy Week and Easter.  Fun times, friends.

How was your March?  What are you looking forward to in April?

Author: angel[a]

I am a woman with a passion to explore, discover, and create. I currently work in higher education but also have a love for all things music, cooking, and baking. I write about an eclectic mix of things to include my faith, field of work, interests, life events, etc.

Leave a Reply

